European Union Immigration: Croatia

Croatia has been an independent country since 1991. It borders to Bosnia and Herzegovina, Hungary, Montenegro, Serbia and Slovenia. It also has a coastline with the Adriatic Sea, where they have 1 000 islands and islets. Only 48 of these are permanently inhabited. Sectors that was important as of 2012 for Croatia, were industry (20.9 %), wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (20.1 %) and public administration, defence education, human health and social work activities (16.0 %). Croatia’s main export partners are Italy, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Germany. Their main import partners are Italy, Germany and Russia.

Geographical size
87 661.0 km2
4 275 984 (2012)
Population as % of total EU population
0.8 % (2012)
€ 43.682 billion (2012)
Official EU language(s)
Political system
Parliamentary republic
EU member country since
1 July 2013
Seats in the European Parliament
Croatian Kuna HRK
Schengen area member
No, Croatia is not a member of the Schengen Area.
Presidency of the Council
Croatia has so far not held the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU.

Legal Disclaimer: This website is operated by a private company which provides information about the Electronic System for Travel Authorization. We are NOT affiliated with the government of the United States. Any outgoing links on our website to third parties may offer services and products for a fee. You are encouraged to read and agree to the operating policies of all websites you visit.