European Union Immigration: Hungary

Hungary borders to seven countries: Slovakia, Romania, Croatia, Ukraine, Serbia, Slovenia and Austria. Hungary is mostly flat and with low mountains. As of 2012, the most important parts of Hungary’s economy were industry (26.8%), wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (17.6 %) and public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (17.3 %). Main export partners for Hungary are Germany, Slovakia and Romania, and main import partners are Germany, Russia and China.

Geographical size
93 023.7 km2
9 931 925 (2012)
Population as % of total EU population
2.0 % (2012)
€ 96.968 billion (2012)
Official EU language(s)
Political system
Parliamentary republic
EU member country since
1 May 2004
Seats in the European Parliament
Hungarian Forint HUF
Schengen area member
Yes, Schengen Area member since 21 December 2007.
Presidency of the Council
Hungary has held the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU once in 2011.

Legal Disclaimer: This website is operated by a private company which provides information about the Electronic System for Travel Authorization. We are NOT affiliated with the government of the United States. Any outgoing links on our website to third parties may offer services and products for a fee. You are encouraged to read and agree to the operating policies of all websites you visit.