European Union Immigration: Slovakia

Slovakia is located in eastern central Europe. It borders to the Czech Republic, Austria, Poland, Ukraine and Hungary. The northern half of the country includes the Carpathian Mountains and the High Tatras. In the southern part however, we find the lowlands of the Danube plain. Slovakia’s economy’s most important areas in 2012 were industry (27.0 %), wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (22.3 %) and public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (13.3 %). Germany, the Czech Republic and Poland make up main important export partners for Slovakia. For import they mainly use Germany, the Czech Republic and Russia.

Geographical size
49 036 km2
5 404 322 (2012)
Population as % of total EU population
1.1% (2012)
€ 71.096 billion (2012)
Official EU language(s)
Political system
Parliamentary republic
EU member country since
1 May 2004
Seats in the European Parliament
Eurozone member since 1 January 2009
Schengen area member
Yes, Schengen Area member since 21 December 2007.
Presidency of the Council
Slovakia will hold the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU for the first time in 2016.

Legal Disclaimer: This website is operated by a private company which provides information about the Electronic System for Travel Authorization. We are NOT affiliated with the government of the United States. Any outgoing links on our website to third parties may offer services and products for a fee. You are encouraged to read and agree to the operating policies of all websites you visit.