European Union Immigration: Slovenia

Slovenia is located in southern Central Europe and borders to Italy, Austria, Croatia and Hungary. The Alps dominates the north of this country and in the southwest the Karst Plateau, which is a region occupied by limestone caves and gorges. It also has it coastline with the Adriatic Sea between Croatia and Italy. Slovenia’s economy’s most important areas in 2012 were industry (25.2 %), wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (20.4 %) and public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (17.8 %). Export and import are mainly done through Germany, Italy and Austria.

Geographical size
20 273 km2
2 055 496 (2012)
Population as % of total EU population
0.4 % (2012)
€ 35.319 billion (2012)
Official EU language(s)
Political system
Parliamentary republic
EU member country since
1 May 2004
Seats in the European Parliament
Eurozone member since 1 January 2007
Schengen area member
Yes, Schengen Area member since 21 December 2007.
Presidency of the Council
Slovenia has held the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU once in 2008

Legal Disclaimer: This website is operated by a private company which provides information about the Electronic System for Travel Authorization. We are NOT affiliated with the government of the United States. Any outgoing links on our website to third parties may offer services and products for a fee. You are encouraged to read and agree to the operating policies of all websites you visit.