European Union Immigration: Spain

The mainland of Spain is dominated by mountain ranges such as the Pyrenees and the Sierra Nevada, on the Iberian Peninsula. Spain is bordered by France and Andorra in the north, and Portugal to the west. Spain’s territory reaches out to the Balearic Islands in the Mediterranean Sea, the Canary Islands in the Atlantic Ocean, as well as Ceuta and Melilla in North Africa. Spain’s economy’s most important areas in 2012 were wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (25.3 %), public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (18.1 %), and industry (17.4 %). Export and import partners of Spain are France, Germany and Italy.

Geographical size
505 990.7 km2
46 818 219 (2012)
Population as % of total EU population
9.3 % (2012)
€ 1.029 trillion (2012)
Official EU language(s)
Political system
Parliamentary constitutional monarchy
EU member country since
1 January 1986
Seats in the European Parliament
Eurozone member since 1 January 1999
Schengen area member
Yes, Schengen Area member since 25 June 1991.
Presidency of the Council
Spain has held the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU 4 times between 1989 and 2010

Legal Disclaimer: This website is operated by a private company which provides information about the Electronic System for Travel Authorization. We are NOT affiliated with the government of the United States. Any outgoing links on our website to third parties may offer services and products for a fee. You are encouraged to read and agree to the operating policies of all websites you visit.