There are many EU immigration benefits within the European Union. Some of these include becoming a citizen or a resident of any country within the European Union. The organization helps people marry citizens or residents of the EU, as well as help people obtain an “EU Passport”, and to work temporarily in any of the countries that are part of the European Union.

One benefit of being a citizen within one of the EU countries is that EU policy states that regulations and laws are applicable to any of the other EU countries that a person decides to live or work in. The European Court of Justice is the judicial system that oversees the treaties of the EU. It allows for the interpretation of agreements between the EU countries, and even some of the non EU countries in order to create a bilateral interpretation of the laws.


There are different immigration programs in the 28 countries that belong to the European Union. Some of the sectors include ways to become a citizen, inheriting citizenship, foreign worker programs, unemployment rates, and any other official EU immigration program which allows people in Europe to be able to live in one or more EU countries. Each country has their institutional framework for immigration. These immigration programs within EU immigration policy have undergone some revamping, so it is important that people who wish to live or work in various countries throughout Europe, learn about the individualized EU immigration programs as per country. Some programs may be time-limited based on school, tourism, or work and come to an end after a period of time.

The EU grants non EU nationals a resident status after they have continuously and legally lived in the territory of an EU country for five years. Citizenship is typically acquired at birth, marriage, family relations, or long-term residency. Residents in the EU can legally live and work in an EU country with a foreign citizenship and a passport. Each EU country has its own EU immigration policy regarding applications for how a resident can become a citizen.


The Treaty on European Union signed in Maastricht was signed in 1992. This treaty led to reunification of the European countries. Especially regarding more integration between communities, the judicial and police matters, and with common foreign security policies. One of the things The Treaty of Maastricht addresses is citizenship in the European Union:

Every person holding the nationality of a Member State of the European Union is, as a result, a citizen of the Union. Citizenship of the Union supplements national citizenship without replacing it. It is made up of a set of fundamental rights and obligations enshrined in the EC Treaty among which it is worth underlining the right not to be discriminated on the basis of the nationality.

This means that any person who becomes a citizen in any of the 28 countries that make up the European Union instantly also is granted citizenship within the EU. While it is not separate from national citizenship, it does take precedence and also allows individuals to have rights in any of the 28 EU countries. For example, a citizen in Poland who has moved and retired to Spain can vote where they reside.

Legal Disclaimer: This website is operated by a private company which provides information about the Electronic System for Travel Authorization. We are NOT affiliated with the government of the United States. Any outgoing links on our website to third parties may offer services and products for a fee. You are encouraged to read and agree to the operating policies of all websites you visit.