Non EU Immigration: Switzerland

Switzerland is not a member of the European Union. It is however, related to the EU by its participation in the European Free Trade Association (EFTA). Switzerland signed the European Economic Area (EEA) agreement on 2 May, 1992. They started negotiations with the EU in 1994 about a special affiliation outside the EEA, which resulted in ten treaties that includes: free movement of people, air traffic, road traffic, agriculture, technical trade barriers, public procurement, science. Security and asylum and Schengen membership and cooperation in fraud pursuits. In addition, the last one revolves around open questions about agriculture, environment, media, education, care of the elderly, statistics and services. Voters in Switzerland accepted a referendum limiting the freedom of movement of foreign citizens to Switzerland. This means no free movement of people and could impact for example the Erasmus Programme. The EU has temporarily withdrawn from these negotiations.

Geographical size
41,285 km2
8,183,800 (2014)
$679.028 billion (2014)
Official Languages:
German, French, Italian and Romansh
Political system
Federal multi-party directorial republic with elements of direct democracy
Swiss franc
Schengen area member
Yes, since 26 October 2004

Legal Disclaimer: This website is operated by a private company which provides information about the Electronic System for Travel Authorization. We are NOT affiliated with the government of the United States. Any outgoing links on our website to third parties may offer services and products for a fee. You are encouraged to read and agree to the operating policies of all websites you visit.